Eurovision 2022 results: Song Contest voting explained and what time the winner will be announced – Uber Turco News

The Eurovision song contest is back again and it looks like it could be an interesting year.

Although countries are unable to vote for themselves in the competition, many will be keen to place votes – especially in light of Ukraine’s international support at the contest this year.

Here’s everything you need to know in order to cast your vote and have your say.

How to vote in Eurovision

Viewers can cast their Eurovision vote by phone or text, however there is also an option to vote through the Eurovision app. You cannot vote through either the BBC or official Eurovision website.

You can download the app from the Apple Store here, or Android users can get it from the Google Play Store here.

Every country can vote in the finals, however countries in the big five were not allowed to cast a vote in the semi-finals as they did not compete in the semis themselves.

These countries were:

  • UK
  • France
  • Germany
  • Italy
  • Spain

What are Eurovision jury votes?

Eurovision winners are decided by a combination of public voting and expert juries who cast a vote on behalf of each country.

Each jury is made up of six experts who rank their favourite songs, allocating 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10 and 12 points.

More from Music

When will results be announced?

The Eurovision final will finish at 12am, just after results have been added up using the live score board.

Once the winner has been announced, they will perform again on the stage, before taking home the iconic glass microphone trophy.

The winning country will traditionally be given the honour of hosting the next Eurovision Song Contest.

Which countries are in the Eurovision 2022 final?

The 10 countries who made it through from the first semi-final are as follows:

  • Ukraine: Kalush Orchestra – Stefania
  • Switzerland: Marius Bear – Boys Do Cry
  • Armenia: Rosa Linn – Snap
  • Iceland: Systur – Með Hækkandi Sól
  • Lithuania: Monika Liu – Sentimentai
  • Portugal: MARO – Saudade, Saudade
  • Norway: Subwoolfer – Give That Wolf a Banana
  • Greece: Amanda Georgiadi Tenfjord – Die Together
  • Moldova: Zdob şi Zdub & Advahov Brothers – Trenulețul
  • Netherlands: S10 – De Diepte

They are joining Eurovision’s “big five” nations, which bypass the semi-final stage each year, usually alongside the host nation – although this year that spot is occupied by Italy, one of the big five:

  • Italy: Mahmood & Blanco – “Brividi”
  • Germany: Malik Harris – “Rockstars”
  • France: Alvan and Ahez – “Fulenn”
  • Spain: Chanel – “SloMo”
  • United Kingdom: Sam Ryder – “SPACE MAN”

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: